Our People

Together, we're transforming health care

Executive Leadership

Calgary Health Foundation’s executive team sets the strategy and course for the organization. Their unrelenting passion and unparalleled experience drives the foundation’s current and future success.
Murray Sigler
President & CEO
Rebecca Bowman
Vice President, Philanthropy & Chief Development Officer
Michael Birnie
Vice President & Chief Technology Officer
Kathryn Wanvig
Vice President & Chief Financial Officer


Cicely Patrick
Director, Development & Campaigns
Christiana Armeniakou
Director, Project Funding
Gord Austin
Manager, Pipeline & Research
Deanne Guest
Manager, Annual Giving
Heather Innes
Manager, Donor Relations
Blair Nicholls
Manager, Legacy Giving
Ashley Burnett
Data Analyst/Researcher
Sandra Clough
Philanthropy Coordinator
Jennifer Head
Senior Philanthropy Advisor
Charlotte Howe
Senior Philanthropy Advisor
Kelly MacDonald
Philanthropy Advisor
Laurel Williams
Philanthropy Advisor

Communications & Engagement

Valerie Ball
Senior Director, Marketing, Communications & Engagement
Daniela Mitrache
Director, Digital Engagement
Shannon MacMillan
Manager, Communications & Engagement
Ashley Oakley
Communications & Marketing Advisor
Kendra Horosko
Communications Engagement Advisor
Kimberley McNeil
Communications Engagement Advisor
Ramina Shlah
Digital Communications Coordinator

Administration & Finance

Rosaline Akinokun
Director, People & Culture
Tammy-Jo Ashton
Debbie Brown
Executive Assistant
Arpan Mann
Accounts Payable & Disbursements Advisor
Heather Neis
Senior Accountant
Ghada Sadden
Manager, Gift Processing
Gizela Jastrzebski
Gift Processor
Robert Schilling
IT/Database Administrator

Board of Directors & Volunteers

Calgary Health Foundation is fueled by people who are committed to ensuring our community has access to the best possible health outcomes. Made up of outstanding local leaders, our Board of Directors leverage their professional expertise to provide the Calgary Health Foundation with the leadership and guidance necessary for us to fulfill our mission.
Sandy Edmonstone
Board Chair

Lesley Hutcheson

Sarah Kennedy

Roger Chaffin
Governance Committee Chair

Kathy Hnatiuk
Chair of Government Relations

Roderick McKay
Chair of Finance & Auditing Committee

Robert Peabody
Chair of Funding Oversight Committee

Iveta Andreeva

Dr. Mark Anselmo

Kirk Bailey

Nancy Calvin

Dr. Chris Eagle

Kate Fischer

Bonnie Healy

Dr. Richard Hu

Rob King

Amanda Kousinioris

Alice Lam

Eda Libin

Catherine MacNeill

Mark Owerko

Ann McCaig
Chair Emeritus
Bill Sembo
Past Chair

Site Councils

The Calgary Health Foundation is currently recruiting volunteers to join our Site Fund Development Councils. If you are interested in volunteering, please contact Sandra Clough at sandra.clough@calgaryhealthfoundation.ca.

Fund Development Councils

Fund Development Councils raise funds in support of advancing health care in Calgary and beyond. Fund Development Councils at the sites raise funds for the Calgary Health Foundation in supporting breakthroughs and innovation at each acute care site and the Calgary Zone. Volunteers develop new relationships with the donor community and AHS site personnel. As key volunteer ambassadors, members raise public awareness about the Calgary Health Foundation (CHF) mission to advance care, wellness, and research through active fundraising including and not limited to, identifying potential donors, soliciting, and thanking donors.

Foothills Medical Centre

Robert Peabody
Council Chair
Caroline Barham

Dr. James Eisner

Brianna Guenther

Amanda Ovaici

Michael Suddes

Shawna Syverson

Peter Lougheed Centre

Iveta Andreeva
Council Chair
Megan Gupton

Dr. Elizabeth Mackay

Victoria MacLean Reade

Rosalee Sears-Ford

Nicholas Thain

Jeremy Thompson

Rockyview General

Nancy Calvin
Council Chair
Laila Adam

Jana Ambrogiano

Anastasia Columbos

Renee Duckworth

Stuart Libin

David Warkentin

Dr. Misty Watson

South Health Campus

Alain Boileau

Shannon Darragh

Dr. Colin Del Castilho

Jillian Dickson

Shelley Koch

Virginia Meyer

Balwant Singh

Honourary Patrons

Every donor and donation has the power to transform lives. We celebrate individuals who have made significant impacts through their contributions, dedication and long-standing support of the Calgary Health Foundation as Honourary Patrons.

John Armstrong, QC
Alex Cummings
Barry Davy
Dr. Chen Fong
Betty Gourlay
Kevin Gregor
Tim Hamilton
Phyllis Kane
Jack MacLeod
M. Ann McCaig
Bud McCaig
Cynthia Moore
Patricia Moore
Sherrold Moore
Gerald Pittman, QC
Bill Sembo
Steve Wilson
Peter Valentine
Dr. Sid Viner

Murray Sigler

President & CEO

Murray Sigler is the President & CEO of the Calgary Health Foundation, having joined in November 2022.

In his role, he works alongside the leadership of the provincial health system, Alberta Health Services, and the Government of Alberta’s Ministry of Health to ensure that the best health care and outcomes across Calgary are the standard for Albertans.

Murray brings a wealth of expertise across multiple sectors and has a passion for community growth and healthcare development.

Prior to joining the Foundation, Mr. Sigler served as interim President & CEO of Calgary Chamber of Commerce from August 2020 to July 2021. From 2016 until 2020, he held the position of CEO and, later, as Executive Advisor with Sport Calgary, the volunteer non-profit society representing sport in the City of Calgary.

From 2009 to June 2016, Murray was President of Axia FibreNet and its subsidiary companies. He also served as Managing Director of the Government of Alberta’s UK Office from July 2005 to 2009. Prior to that he had an extensive career in the aviation industry, including as President and COO of Canadian Airlines International, CEO of Canadian Regional Airlines and initial President and CEO of Winnipeg Airports Authority.

Today, Murray invests his volunteer time in building community as the Founding Board Chair of Sport for Calgary Foundation, as well as serving as Governance Chair for KidSport Calgary and Flames Sports Entertainment Bank. He is also the Board Chair for Lindsay Park Sport Society, overseeing operations for the MNP Community & Sport Centre, and serves on the Board at The Glencoe Club, Glencoe Golf and Country Club, and Alberta’s History and Heroes Foundation. He is an honorary lifetime member of the Canada/UK Chamber of Commerce.

He holds degrees in Arts and Law from the University of Alberta and is an active member of the Law Society of Alberta and a graduate of Harvard University’s Graduate School of Business in the Advanced Management Program.

In April 2022, Murray was honoured by the Calgary Chamber of Commerce as the recipient of its Sherrold Moore Award, bestowed annually upon a long-standing Chamber member whose character embodies the true essence of community, volunteerism and humble dedication to the community.

Transform Health Care
With Just a Click

When it comes to making a difference in the health of Albertans, every little bit has the potential to make a big impact – and it’s never been easier.