Our People

Together, we're transforming health care

Executive Leadership

Calgary Health Foundation’s executive team sets the strategy and course for the organization. Their unrelenting passion and unparalleled experience drives the foundation’s current and future success.
Murray Sigler
Interim President & CEO
Michael Birnie
Vice President & Chief Technology Officer
Rebecca Bowman
Vice President, Philanthropy
Ray Crossley
Vice President & Chief Financial Officer
Kathryn Wanvig
Vice President & Controller


Cicely Patrick
Director, Development & Campaigns
Christiana Armeniakou
Project Funding Manager
Gord Austin
Manager, Pipeline & Research
Deanne Guest
Manager, Annual Giving
Heather Innes
Manager, Donor Relations
Blair Nicholls
Manager, Legacy Giving
Ashley Burnett
Data Analyst/Researcher
Sandra Clough
Philanthropy Coordinator
Charlotte Howe
Senior Philanthropy Advisor
Kelly MacDonald
Philanthropy Advisor
Laurel Williams
Philanthropy Advisor


Valerie Ball
Senior Director, Marketing, Communications & Engagement
Daniela Mitrache
Director, Digital Engagement
Shannon MacMillan
Manager, Communications & Engagement
Ashley Oakley
Communications & Marketing Advisor
Ramina Shlah
Digital Communications Coordinator

Administration & Finance

Rosaline Akinokun
Manager, People Services
Tammy-Jo Ashton
Debbie Brown
Executive Assistant
Arpan Mann
A/P Disbursements Coordinator
Heather Neis
Ghada Sadden
Senior Gift Processor
Gizela Jastrzebski
Gift Processor
Robert Schilling
IT/Database Administrator

Board of Directors & Volunteers

Calgary Health Foundation is fueled by people who are committed to ensuring our community has access to the best possible health outcomes. Made up of outstanding local leaders, our Board of Directors leverage their professional expertise to provide the Calgary Health Foundation with the leadership and guidance necessary for us to fulfill our mission.
Sandy Edmonstone
Board Chair

Lesley Hutcheson

Sarah Kennedy

Dave Routledge

Roger Chaffin
Governance Committee Chair

Kathy Hnatiuk
Chair of Government Relations

Roderick McKay
Chair of Finance & Auditing Committee

Robert Peabody
Chair of Funding Oversight Committee

Dr. Mark Anselmo

Kirk Bailey

Nancy Calvin

Dr. Chris Eagle

Kate Fischer

Bonnie Healy

Dr. Richard Hu

Rob King

Amanda Kousinioris

Alice Lam

Eda Libin

Catherine MacNeill

Mark Owerko

Ann McCaig
Chair Emeritus
Bill Sembo
Past Chair

Site Councils

The Calgary Health Foundation is currently recruiting volunteers to join our Site Fund Development Councils. If you are interested in volunteering, please contact Sandra Clough at sandra.clough@calgaryhealthfoundation.ca.

Fund Development Councils

Fund Development Councils raise funds in support of advancing health care in Calgary and beyond. Fund Development Councils at the sites raise funds for the Calgary Health Foundation in supporting breakthroughs and innovation at each acute care site and the Calgary Zone. Volunteers develop new relationships with the donor community and AHS site personnel. As key volunteer ambassadors, members raise public awareness about the Calgary Health Foundation (CHF) mission to advance care, wellness, and research through active fundraising including and not limited to, identifying potential donors, soliciting, and thanking donors.

Foothills Medical Centre

Robert Peabody
Council Chair
David Routledge

Peter Lougheed Centre

David Routledge

Rockyview General

Nancy Calvin
Council Chair
David Routledge

South Health Campus

David Routledge

Honourary Patrons

Every donor and donation has the power to transform lives. We celebrate individuals who have made significant impacts through their contributions, dedication and long-standing support of the Calgary Health Foundation as Honourary Patrons.

John Armstrong, QC
Alex Cummings
Barry Davy
Dr. Chen Fong
Betty Gourlay
Kevin Gregor
Tim Hamilton
Phyllis Kane
Jack MacLeod
M. Ann McCaig
Bud McCaig
Cynthia Moore
Patricia Moore
Sherrold Moore
Gerald Pittman, QC
Bill Sembo
Steve Wilson
Peter Valentine
Dr. Sid Viner

Murray Sigler

Interim President & CEO

Murray Sigler was appointed interim President & CEO of the Calgary Health Foundation on November 3, 2022.

In his role, he works alongside the leadership of the provincial health system, Alberta Health Services, and the Government of Alberta’s Ministry of Health to ensure that the best health care and outcomes across Calgary are the standard for Albertans.

Murray brings a wealth of expertise across multiple sectors and has a passion for community growth and healthcare development.

Prior to joining the Foundation, Mr. Sigler served as interim President & CEO of Calgary Chamber of Commerce from August 10, 2020, until July 5, 2021. From 2016 until 2020, he held the position of CEO and, later, Executive Advisor with Sport Calgary, the volunteer non-profit society representing sport in the City of Calgary.

Until June 2016, Murray was President of Axia FibreNet and its subsidiary companies. Before joining Axia in 2009, Murray served as Managing Director of the Government of Alberta’s UK Office for three and a half years. Prior to that he had an extensive career in the aviation industry, including as President and COO of Canadian Airlines International, CEO of Canadian Regional Airlines and initial President and CEO of Winnipeg Airports Authority.

Today, Murray invests his volunteer time in building community as the Founding Board Chair of Sport for Calgary Foundation, as well as serving as Governance Chair for KidSport Calgary and Flames Sports Entertainment Bank. He also is active as the Chair of the Board for Lindsay Park Sport Society, overseeing operations for the MNP Community & Sport Centre, and serves on the Board at The Glencoe Club, Glencoe Golf and Country Club, and Alberta’s History and Heroes Foundation. He is an honorary lifetime member of the Canada/UK Chamber of Commerce.

He holds degrees in Arts and Law from the University of Alberta and is an active member of the Law Society of Alberta and a graduate of Harvard University’s Graduate School of Business in the Advanced Management Program.

In April 2022, Murray was honoured by the Calgary Chamber of Commerce as the recipient of its Sherrold Moore Award, bestowed annually upon a long-standing Chamber member whose character embodies the true essence of community, volunteerism and humble dedication to the community.

Ray Crossley

Vice President & Chief Financial Officer

Ray Crossley has been the Chief Financial Officer of the Foundation since 2018.

In addition to Ray’s role at the Foundation, he is on the boards of Obsidian Energy, Alberta Securities Commission, and Canada West Foundation (Chair).

In March 2015, Ray retired from the global professional services firm, PwC LLP, after more than 33 years. During his career at PwC, he served a number of the firm’s largest clients and as a member of the firm’s management, as Managing Partner, Western Canada, and Managing Partner of PwC’s Calgary office.

Ray graduated from the University of Western Ontario, is a Chartered Professional Accountant in Alberta, and holds the ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Throughout his career, Ray has been active in the philanthropic community. He believes that the health of the citizens of the Calgary region is critical to continuing the evolution of the city as a great place to live for long-time and new Calgarians.

Transform Health Care
With Just a Click

When it comes to making a difference in the health of Albertans, every little bit has the potential to make a big impact – and it’s never been easier.